Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - S_A_Longhorn

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 37
1
Hey guys

Hadn't checked this thread in a loooonnnng time, but saw your comments.  Appreciate your words and thank you for taking the time to read the story.  I had a lot of fun working on the PN, even tho it took me over a year to complete.  Seems like a lifetime ago!  But it is always cool to see my work live on for others to enjoy.

Been thinking about making another PN in a different era recently. 

3
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: November 24, 2008, 06:26 PM »
I've listened to a few songs and I'm mixed. I did like the Chinese Democracy single. But I'm a huge fan of the original GnR, not the watered down version of Axl and his revolving door band. I just can't get past the fact that Slash is not he guitarist and that just kills it for me. I know it shouldn't but it does. GnR with all the changes just isn't GnR anymore. This just doesn't have the GnR feel to me...it's got some good music, don't get me wrong. I think though a number of people (me included) are trying to compare this album to previous GnR albums and maybe we shouldn't. The band is different and we are 15+ years after the last true GnR albums. Maybe it would be better to compare CD to the other current rock/metal albums out right now.

BTW, if you want a really good read on one perspective of what happened to GnR, read "Slash". Obviously it's Slash's insight into his life and what ended up happening to the band after UYI came out and how they fell apart.

Sorry, ROB, but I know if I like music when I am constantly choosing to hear it.

I've listened to songs like Better, IRS, There Was A Time, The Blues/Street Of Dream, & Catcher in the Rye for the past couple of years.  Not b/c I "thought" it was good, but b/c I liked it.  The final album is only half new to me, and while I love the classic blues-rock sound of AfD, that was a completely different band playing and writing those songs.  Those were 5 kids living day-to-day, and their music reflected that.  If you really want that, then look for the next starving rock band, b/c that will never again be Axl, Slash, Duff, or Izzy. 

This new sound is still great for me.  First, it starts with Axl.  I am a fan of his voice and vocals.  No one else sounds like him.  And while I am big fan of Slash and his music, I can still hear Slash in these songs.  Honestly, what has Slash done since leaving GNR?  Played for anyone that has paid him?  When you compare all the GNR-related albums by Duff, Matt, Steven, Izzy, Gilby, and Slash, this GNR-Axl record is far better IMO.  If Axl wants to call it GNR, so be it.  No one was ever fired - they all quit.  And you see what they've done.

Axl's music is still better and to me, what defined GNR.  My biggest problem with this curent GNR is the fact that Axl is STILL IN HIDING and the band is in limbo.  No Buckethead?  A freak to be sure, but a guitar player that could rival SLash in mastery.  No Finck?  He was my favorite new member of the band and somone who had been with axl for over 10 years.  No Brain?  No Freese?  Hard to really get excited about the "band" when you don't know who is in the "band".  Unless Axl comes out of his Malibu house, this GNR album (despite how great it is) will be better known as "Axl & Friends" since so many people worked on it, but never supported it as one band.

4
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: November 21, 2008, 05:49 PM »
Copied from over on RS:

DON'T FORGET ABOUT THE FREE DR. PEPPER THIS SUNDAY!



Quote
Dr Pepper is making good on its promise of free soda now that the release of Guns N' Roses' "Chinese Democracy" is a reality. The soft-drink maker said in March that it would give a free soda to everyone in America if the album dropped in 2008. "Chinese Democracy," infamously delayed since recording began in 1994, goes on sale Sunday.

"We never thought this day would come," Tony Jacobs, Dr Pepper's vice president of marketing, said in a statement. "But now that it's here, all we can say is: The Dr Pepper's on us."

Beginning Sunday at 12:01 a.m., coupons for a free 20-ounce soda will be available for 24 hours on Dr Pepper's Web site. They'll be honored until Feb. 28.

http://www.drpepper.com

5
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: November 21, 2008, 12:14 PM »
Well, there is a strong rumor that the new GNR will perform this Sunday at the AMAs:

Is GunsíNíRoses Going to make a Surprise Appearance at the American Music Awards this Sunday?

Quote
According to one well placed music industry Deep Throat, there is a very good chance youíll see GNR onstage at the American Music Awards this Sunday on ABC

 
ďAxl wants to be the conquering hero,Ē says the source who has worked closely with some of the biggest acts in the world including GunsíNíRoses. ďThe timing of the show on the night he brings out his masterpiece is too good for him to pass up. He knows itís a good way to get in front of old and new fans in one swoop.Ē

In a heavyweight line up of Christina Aguilera, the reunited New Kids on the Block (both of whom are managed by Irving Azoff), Beyonce, Coldplay, the Jonas Brothers, Alicia Keys and Kanye West, among others, GunsíNíRoses would still emerge as the champion.

 
The band is likely to be introduced by Aerosmithís Steven Tyler and Joe Perry.

I seriously doubt it will happen.  As an ole GNR fan, whenever something makes sense, it usually doesn't happen.

But if they do, maybe we'll know who is actually in the band.

6
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: November 21, 2008, 10:16 AM »
It just doesn't sound like GNR to me.  His voice sounds shot on half of the tracks... it doesn't have the bluesy sound that they used to have... the energy is really low, the songs are boring to me.  It comes off as weak and uninspired to me and I'm really surprised that so many of you guys like it and that the review Matt posted was so complimentary.



That's just it - and the reason why Slash and Axl are not together. 

If you want the bluesy-rock album, the go get Slash's Snakepit's "It's Five O'Clock Somewhere".  Slash doesn't claim it was the next GNR album, but Axl does.  Matt, Gilby and Slash wrote those songs together, without Axl or Duff (b/c they didn't want to go in that direction at the time).  For as great as Slash is, and I'm a huge fan of his, his sound has always remained the same.  Duff later came around to play on VR, which is toned version of what GNR used to play and an extension of Snakepit.  I liked it, but never thought it was anything GNR would release had they stayed together.  Axl had to replace all of them to continue what he wanted to do, and then members left for various reasons (Tobias, Buckethead, Freese). 

I would also love another AfD album, but there are people who are saying this album sounds dated.  Metallica's recent album was fantastic, IMO, but there are still a large portion out there that says they are "trying to sound hard".  You can't please everyone I guess.

The majority of the reviews (Rolling Stone, Spin, etc) have been complimentary.  All comment on the time it took to make the album, and the number of power ballads.  It's an extension of the Illusion albums while also being something different and new.  Axl told Rolling Stone in 2006 that it would have some songs everyone would like. 

7
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: November 20, 2008, 05:22 PM »
The whole album is streaming on the GNR MySpace page.

So you like 15%, ROB?  I'm a die-hard GNR/Axl fan, so I love the whole album.  Some songs rank higher than others.  Still can't fully embrace the industrail rock songs completely, then again I've never been a NIN fan either.  ALthought Robin Finck has impressed me with his playing, which I prefer compared to Buckethead or Bumblefoot.  Not saying he is better that either of them, just prefer his Slash-like style.

The industrial rock songs (Shackler's Revenge, Chinese Democracy, & Rhiad & The Bedouins) are great songs, but I wish they weren't put the industrial blender.  The more pure rock songs like Better & I.R.S., I've enjoyed those for years, and glad to have the final versions.

The majority of the songs are ballads, but they are still ringing in my head.  My favorite leak/song still has to be Catcher In The Rye.  The melody and Lennon/Chapman/book lyrics are very memorable.  The new songs like If The World, This I Love& Sorry are all very unique and sound nothing like anything GNR has ever done.  And I think that is a good thing.  All have killer guitar solos.

Looking forward to picking up my CD this weekend.  And my free Dr Pepper!

8
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Sony PlayStation 3
« on: October 17, 2008, 05:30 PM »
Summary of reviews (from Wiki) for LittleBigPlanet:

Edge 10/10
Eurogamer 9/10
GamePro 5/5
GameSpot 9/10
Official PlayStation Magazine (UK) 10/10
Gamereactor 10/10
IGN (UK) 9.7/10
IGN (US) 9.5/10
IGN (Aus) 9.2/10

Wasn't originally going to pick it up, but I can't refuse a game with those scores.

9
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: October 17, 2008, 10:27 AM »
Track listing revealed. I hope they changed the name of The Blues or it is a hidden track because its a great song.

1. Chinese Democracy
2. Scraped
3. Shackler's Revenge
4. Street Of Dreams
5. If The World
6. Better
7. This I Love
8. There Was A Time
9. Riad N' The Bedovins
10. Sorry
11. I.R.S.
12. Catcher
13. Madagascar
14. Prostitute

Part of the lyrics in "The Blues" does include 'street of dreams', so it is most likely the same song.  All 9 leaked tracks in June are on this list, with most thinking the Untitiled #2 Song is called 'Prostitute'. 

'Scraped' has another name, but is completely new.  Rumors that is could be Silkworms or Checkmate.  'This I Love' is supposed to be the epic song long discussed, but no one has ever heard publically.  'Sorry' is a songs that features Sebastian Bach on vocals - he metioned with was an angry, bitter song.  'Catcher' will probably be 'Catcher In The Rye', a long-time favorite of the leaked tracks, but only one bad demo version has ever been heard.


10
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: October 15, 2008, 05:26 PM »
Cover art showing up on the Best Buy site:



Chinese Democracy (Cover A) (Bb) - CD

Quote
Extract from a review of the 2002 Hong Kong show.

Before he played the second one, he told a little anecdote why the new album is called "Chinese Democracy". He said it was because he saw a photo taken in Hong Kong, which he's using as the new album cover. And then he showed it on the video screens, and it was a black and white picture of a bicycle with a basket, and in the wall behind it, someone had grafittied "guns n roses"!!! He said "I didn't paint that myself, so one of you ************* out there must have did it!"


11
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: September 17, 2008, 05:00 PM »
IGN reviews "Shackler's Revenge"

Quote
Forget the GNR you remember from when you were in high school. "Shackler's Revenge" is a brooding, industrial riff with a catchy chorus and only a hint of Axl's classic high-pitched vocals that gets buried at times under heavy distortion. Once you get past the first 30 seconds, "Shackler's Revenge" picks up quite a bit, with one good hook that will keep it bouncing around in your head for at least a couple of weeks.

Everyone wants to know if the new GNR song is any good. I would say that it's an acquired taste, and that the opening half-minute feels a tad self-indulgent. But the song gets better from that point. The more I listen (and play) "Shackler's Revenge" the more it grows on me. Plenty will be turned off by the fact that this doesn't sound at all like classic GNR, but if you want a classic, just go buy Appetite for Destruction. This is the new Guns N' Roses, deal with it or get off the planet.

"Shackler's Revenge" is the second original song "Guns N' Roses" has officially released since the Illusion albums came out in 1991.

There is another review by IGN that was positive.  But this guy criticizes the song as sounding 10 years old, yet would be a success on today's rock radio.  All the while he complains that it doesn't sound like the original GNR, which is over 20 years old. 

He would make a good politician.

From the YouTube videos I've seen, the song lokos to have a great bass line and a challenging guitar part.  Elephant-noise and all.

12
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: August 28, 2008, 02:58 AM »
Skwerl, the guy who leaked the nine songs in June, was arrested today.  Supposedly, the authorities raided his home at 7Am and dragged him out of the house.  The judge was surprised at his treatment since he had only issued a summons to 27-year-old Kevin Cogill.

Official statement by GNR: "Guns N' Roses representatives have been made aware of the arrests and are leaving the matter to the authorities," said band spokesman Larry Solters

According to multiple news reports, a blogger suspected of posting songs on the Internet from the forthcoming Guns N' Roses album Chinese Democracy was arrested Wednesday and appeared in court, where his bail was set at $10,000. FBI agents arrested 27-year-old Kevin Cogill on suspicion of violating federal copyright laws by posting nine unreleased Guns N' Roses songs in June. According to an arrest affidavit, Cogill admitted to FBI agents that he leaked the songs.



BLOGGER ARRESTED FOR LEAKING 9 GN'R SONGS

A lot of fans in the GNR websites are ripping GNR for going to this extreme over Skwerl.  However, some have pointed out that GNR may not be involved at all, instead the infamous RIAA is behind the prosecution.  Maybe the prosecution will have to come up with some concrete evidence that the album really is "forthcoming".  That might be the ONLY way we will ever know the truth.  ::)

MSL, the person who admittely leaked "Shacker's Revenge", is preparing for the same treatment.

Gonna get the President
Gonna get The FBI
Gonna get a Private I
Gonna get the IRS...

13
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Sony PlayStation 3
« on: August 27, 2008, 10:09 AM »
Amazon Gold Box is running video game deals all day, including Gran Turismo 5: Prologue for $23.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/goldbox/

Up right now is Blazing Angels 2.  I guess we'll see what the rest of the day holds.

From PS3Fanboy.com:

Amazon is having an All PS3 Gold Box event today. To kick things off, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue is on sale for $22.99 today only or while supplies last. According to ZappDeals, who is usually correct, the following selections will be the Lighting Deals for the rest of the day. The deal goes live at each corresponding time. We'll update this post throughout the day with the price and if there are any changes, so stay tuned:

6AM PST | 7AM MST | 8AM CST | 9AM EST: Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII $23.99

10AM PST | 11AM MST | 12PM CST | 1PM EST: Logitech Driving Force GT Racing Wheel
12PM PST | 1PM MST | 2PM CST | 3PM EST: Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction
2PM PST | 3PM MST | 4PM CST | 6PM EST: Uncharted: Drake's Fortune
4PM PST | 5PM MST | 6PM CST | 7PM EST: Devil May Cry 4
6PM PST | 7PM MST | 8PM CST | 9PM EST: Haze

14
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Sony PlayStation 3
« on: August 21, 2008, 10:50 AM »
How about this with HOME coming out later this year:


15
Watto's Junk Yard / Re: Welcome to the Jungle Gn'R Fan Club
« on: August 20, 2008, 01:45 PM »
I just want to know why the hell it's taking so long if the record company has the album and when the **** we're going to get it in our hands.  I think all the hype that's surrounding this album may in effect kill the willingness of fringe fans to buy it. This may end up being a case of trying to hype something because it's really not that good.

I haven't listened to all the tracks that have been "made available", but from what I have listened to, I'm not all that stoked or excited about this album. For whatever reason, a lot of the stuff just doesn't have that GnR sound to it...at least in the traditional sense of remembering AFD and how badass that album was, some of the stuff doesn't even compare to the mediocre stuff from the Illusions albums.

That's the biggest misconception.  That GNR was built and made by 5 guys living day to day.  Read Slash's book.  It will never happen again, even if the original 5 reunite.

A current day GNR would sound like a mix of VR and this new GNR.  The sound has changed, but we knew that already.  However, Axl & Baz have said that CD "will have something for everybody", so there is still hope for a bluesy-rock track.

The latest leak is called "Chicken Dinner".  The original leaker (MisterSaintLaurent) says the file was called that.  The June leaker (Skwerl) says that his info says it is 'Shackler's Revenge'.  We'll know for sure in less than a month whn RB2 is released, but most likely sooner.  I don't know who or how MSL got ahold of this track, but he posted at MyGNRForums.com that he leaked it, and he has a lot of creditability over there for stuff.  His website also has a new release date: November 25, 2008. Take it for what it's worth.

This leak is very different from the other in that reportedly this file was ripped from iTunes.  The file is an MP4, not an MP3, and the file contained the following artwork:



I didn't like it at first, but it is growing on me.  Can't imagine trying to sing, strum, or bang the drums to this song in RB2.  Defintetly harder and crazier than anything else leaked.

Now here is the other strong rumor circulating outside of the GNR websites - the new GNR will perform Sept 7 at the 2008 MTV VMAs.  Anyone see the Britney Spears VMA commercial?  (Who the hell is Russel Brand anyway?)  No explaination as to the elephant in the background, but there is a lot of mention of an elephant sound in 'Chicken Dinner/Shackler's Revnge' at the 2:25 mark.  It could be a very subtle, wierd way to signify GNR's performance. 

Too many things happening this year for the album to NOT be released.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 37