Author Topic: Adding Lights to a Diorama?  (Read 2312 times)

Offline Vanquished_Foe

  • Youngling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« on: September 4, 2006, 11:00 PM »
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight into how exactly you put lights in you dioramas.  ???

I know that most use Christmas tree lights (which is what I want to do) but do you alter them or just snake them through the diorama as is?

I need to add lights to mine and any help/tips would be very much appreciated. Thanks for reading!

Offline Joe

  • Jedi Initiate
  • *
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« Reply #1 on: September 4, 2006, 11:58 PM »
If anything , I'd use LED lights , not X-Mas tree lights.  Do a google search on em'.
Cheers!

 - Joe

Offline darthmac

  • Jedi Initiate
  • *
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
    • My Diorama Website
Re: Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« Reply #2 on: September 5, 2006, 12:10 AM »
I built a large rotating display with LED lighting, there are shots of it here. †I also wrote up information about using LED's on my website.

They are really easy once you get the hang of sodering, and give you tremendous flexability.

Offline Kit Fisto

  • Jedi Initiate
  • *
  • Posts: 224
  • "Tell your people to take shelter."
    • View Profile
    • Sofie and Jeffreys' Art/Custom Database
Re: Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« Reply #3 on: September 5, 2006, 04:11 AM »
A guy at our fanclub made a Venator Class docking bay and he used LEDs.

Unfortunatly, the only pic I can provide is this one:

"You're right! The Wu-Tang and the Shaolin could be dangerous!!"

My Website

Me on Ebay

Offline BrentS

  • Jedi Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 2703
  • I sense much fear in you.
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« Reply #4 on: September 5, 2006, 05:20 PM »
I used both LED and standard lights in a diorama experiment.† The biggest problem I have with the LEDs is getting all the wiring to work out.† I burned through several bulbs before I got the power/amps/resistance figured out.

Here is an example from one my diorama projects that I used LED lights on:

Before:


After:



Recently, I've found some cheapy wheat grain lights at Michael's that I've used.† It eliminated some of the wiring necessary.† As I complete this project, I've settled on a combination of both LED and wheat grain style lights.

Offline Vanquished_Foe

  • Youngling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Lights to a Diorama?
« Reply #5 on: September 7, 2006, 08:44 PM »
 Hello Brent. I saw some of your work on Rebelscum as well. That looks great! You will have to tell me what you used to make those torches!

As far as pricing, for the amount of lights I need, LED is a little too deep for my pockets. But I did figure out a way to make Christmas lights work without altering them. I have plenty of space to hide the excess lights and wiring.

Maybe  Iíll try LEDs in the future....

Thanks everyone!
« Last Edit: September 7, 2006, 08:53 PM by Vanquished_Foe »