Author Topic: Building a Home Theater  (Read 2472 times)

SilverZ

Building a Home Theater
« on: February 23, 2004, 01:22 AM »
Phew, so I finally wrapped up a project I've been working on in my apartment for several months now - my new home theater. Ok, I guess it isn't really a dedicated home theater, since it has to fit in an apartment living room, but I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. This is something I've wanted for a long, long time, and never have been able to really do that well until now. So, I put together a page with all the pics and thought that I'd share here. I'd love to hear any thoughts you guys would care to share!

And the OT DVD viewing party is a done deal.  ;)

Jared's Homepage

Offline jokabofe

• Jedi Knight
    • View Profile
Re: Building a Home Theater
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2004, 02:00 AM »
that sure is one sweet setup you have there, jared... puts mine to shame  :-[

actually, i love my personal setup, and the only thing i have left to upgrade is my tv... i sure ain't getting what you got, but i would love to get a dlp setup. i'm thinking about upgrading my old 36" rca tv to a nice 50" lcd projection that we have at my job... it's going to break my bank at around $2400 but it just looks so damn nice. i just have to see if i can even fit it into my apartment. if not, then maybe it's time to move out  ;)

i have the polk rti-70 in the front, and for me they are loud enough and powerful enough for my living room that i didn't even bother with a sub... they have the downfiring bass ports built in anyway. i'm using a csi30 center, fxi-30's for surrounds and  some bose 301's for rear (since i had them from a previous system, and they are awesome speakers) all running through a harman kardon avr330. i just love the 7.1 surround, i couldn't believe what a difference it is over 5.1. i love it... i was going to go with a denon, but just couldn't afford it. but they make some really nice stuff.

Offline JediMAC

• Pretty in Pink