Author Topic: What cellular service do you use?  (Read 896 times)

Offline dustrho

  • Jedi Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • AWESOME
    • View Profile
    • SANDTROOPERS.com
What cellular service do you use?
« on: July 14, 2003, 01:04 AM »
So who's your cellular provider?  I originally used Primeco, switched over to Sprint PCS, and then went back to Primeco.  Well, Primeco is now called US Cellular, and their service is great!  I get 300 anytime minutes (which is plenty for me) for $29.99/month, and it also includes free long distance.  I did get screwed on a roaming charge recently, but that's life I guess.

Do you even have a cell phone?  I don't know what I would do without mine, because I use it all the time.  Plus the "roadside assistance" I pay for ($3/month) has helped me a few times when I really needed the help.  I don't go anywhere without my cell phone.
dustrho

Offline JoshEEE

  • Jedi Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1094
    • View Profile
    • My Star Wars collection
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2003, 04:58 PM »
I had Sprint, but I was really tired of it's bad reception whenever I went downstairs in a building or basically anywhere without a good view of the sky.

I switched to Verizon, and the Jury is still out on them. They're cheaper....but they don't have those cool camera phones I keep drooling over.
Got Clones?

Offline dustrho

  • Jedi Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • AWESOME
    • View Profile
    • SANDTROOPERS.com
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2003, 05:00 PM »
....but they don't have those cool camera phones I keep drooling over.

What kind of picture quality do those camera phones have?  I couldn't imagine them being very good quality... probably 640x480 at best.  Just curious.
dustrho

Offline JoshEEE

  • Jedi Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1094
    • View Profile
    • My Star Wars collection
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2003, 05:01 PM »
I believe it's not even 640*480.

My friend has one, and they are really cruddy resolution (but they look great on the phone).

I just want one because it's the gadget I don't have yet, and I'm feeling left behind.
Got Clones?

Offline dustrho

  • Jedi Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • AWESOME
    • View Profile
    • SANDTROOPERS.com
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2003, 06:48 PM »
If I could get a new phone it would be a Palm-based PDA and cell phone combination.  It's a pain in the booty to carry both a PDA and cell phone.
dustrho

Offline jadesfire

  • Jedi Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2270
    • View Profile
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2003, 07:18 PM »
I use the local All-tel company but the kids have "trac-fones".  They have great reception for living in the Upper Peninsula ( no digital towers yet, wait there is one-it's at MI Tech University in Houghton).  Soon we are suppose to get a few digital towers and then I'll probably get one of the slim line versions.
Beth

Offline Diddly

  • Jedi Master
  • *
  • Posts: 5256
  • SECede
    • View Profile
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2003, 10:42 PM »
I use Sprint also. My Dad has one of those camera phones, and the pictures look best on the phone. My phone can recive pictures, but it can't take them.
http://diddlyscoop.blogspot.com
Twitter: @travis_banks

Offline dustrho

  • Jedi Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • AWESOME
    • View Profile
    • SANDTROOPERS.com
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2003, 10:46 PM »
My phone can recive pictures, but it can't take them.

That makes a whole lot of sense now, doesn't it?   :P
dustrho

Offline Diddly

  • Jedi Master
  • *
  • Posts: 5256
  • SECede
    • View Profile
Re: What cellular service do you use?
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2003, 10:54 PM »
My phone can recive pictures, but it can't take them.

That makes a whole lot of sense now, doesn't it?   :P

I meant my cell phone, but I'm serious! It has the ability to recieve pics, but can't take them because it doesn't have a camera.
http://diddlyscoop.blogspot.com
Twitter: @travis_banks