Author Topic: Double standard of country music  (Read 1471 times)

Offline Vote for Chewbacca the Wookiee

• Youngling
  • If you haven't seen me before, I'm new to you.
    • View Profile
Double standard of country music
« on: April 4, 2004, 05:03 PM »
The more popified country is becoming, the greater the double standard along gender lines.
Look at the male side, and you see balding, pudgy Garth Brooks, the best seller in the history of the genre, a man comparable in sales to Elvis and the Beatles. A large number - Joe Diffy, Trace Adkins, Vince Gill to name a few, are also not entirely in that overly groomed grouping. They're judged on quality, not appearance, as they should be.
But the females are disappearing from radio and suffering reduced airplay on CMT and GAC after age 40. Reba's been reduced to a sitcom - on the WB! Suzy Boggus, who has a beautiful voice, fell off the face of the earth close to a decade ago.
Comments?
"The truths we cling to depend greatly on our pwn point of view." - Ben Kenobi
Appearing for the first time anywhere outside of Rebelscum, Chewbacca the...

Offline JediMAC

• Pretty in Pink
  • Retired Staff Member
  • Jedi Sentinel
    • View Profile
    • JediDefender
Re: Double standard of country music
« Reply #1 on: April 5, 2004, 04:11 PM »
Love me some Shania and Faith!  Shania's the hottest woman on the planet (as you'd notice in our hotties thread here), and Faith ain't too shabby either.  In fact, Shania's kind of our honorary "mascot" here, if you will...   8)

Oh wait, were you talking about their music Chewie?  My bad.  Probably just perpetuated the exact stereotype you were pointing out there, eh?   :P