Author Topic: Hi! I'm a newb so......  (Read 2679 times)

Offline Ruprecht

• Jedi Initiate
  • Yes I did say it.
    • View Profile
Hi! I'm a newb so......
« on: May 4, 2005, 03:12 PM »
A few questions, but first: 

Awesome customs dudes!  Someday, hopefully I'll be as skilled.

K, with the questions:

1.  What's the BEST tape to use for straight lines on figs?  I've tried blue and regular masking tape, electrical, duct, but none seem to do the job.  Perhaps it's in the application of the tape, or how long to let the paint dry?

2.  When to sand?  Before, after each coat of paint?  I always sand and clean w/windex prior to painting a fig, though.

3.  DD mentions white spirits and someone else (Chewie?) mentioned mineral turpentine as great ways to remove stock or acrylic paint from a fig without damaging the plastic.  Where do you guys get these items?  No one at hobby stores,  or craft stores around here (Utah) knows what I'm talking about when I ask.  Might they be at a hardware store?

4.  Some of you dremel out helmets so you can give clones/ARCs a head.  I have a dremel, and before I go to buy some more bits/sanders for it I'd like to know which ones work best for this task.

Any help would be appreciated

bjardkerr

Offline Ryan

• Retired Staff Member
  • Jedi Master
  • Destiny is all
    • View Profile
    • JediDefender
Re: Hi! I'm a newb so......
« Reply #1 on: May 4, 2005, 03:22 PM »
1.  What's the BEST tape to use for straight lines on figs?  I've tried blue and regular masking tape, electrical, duct, but none seem to do the job.  Perhaps it's in the application of the tape, or how long to let the paint dry?

When you find an answer to that let me know. ;) I've heard of using paper as a straight edge instead of tape.

2.  When to sand?  Before, after each coat of paint?  I always sand and clean w/windex prior to painting a fig, though.

I usually sand before I start, though sometimes when I'm feeling lazy I don't and it isn't too much of a problem.