Author Topic: AT-AT w/camouflage paint... need HELP  (Read 3068 times)

Offline dustrho

• Jedi Knight
  • AWESOME
    • View Profile
    • SANDTROOPERS.com
AT-AT w/camouflage paint... need HELP
« on: July 8, 2003, 04:23 PM »
This is something I've been wanting to do for a long time now.  I was able to get a POTF2 AT-AT at a garage sale for $6, and all that's missing from it are the chin guns and the side door panel.  I've been wanting to paint it a forest camouflage style on it (greens and browns like the US Army).  I've never done customizing before, so this will be my first attempt.  What paints would be best to use on that type of plastic, and any ideas on what greens & browns would be best to use for this?  I want the camouflage to look something like this...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!
dustrho

Offline Jesse James

• Staff Member
  • Grand Master
  • Slippery When Poopy
    • View Profile
    • JediDefender.com
Re: AT-AT w/camouflage paint... need HELP
« Reply #1 on: July 9, 2003, 01:25 AM »
The only paints you should ever use on toys are waterbased...  Basically, if you clean up using water (Not paint thinner) then you're good...  I'd suggest Tamiya paint if you have them available in your area...

Now, for painting camo, especially on large surfaces like a vehicle, you have a dilemma...  Doing it by hand is going to Su-diddly-uck...  You're better off trying spray paint then, or using an airbrush.  Since you're not a big customizer I'm guessing the airbrush is out...  Spray paint would work, so long as you find one that won't react with the plastic.

I'd maybe try buying a small can of Testors spray, and just spray it on a VERY small corner or piece of each piece of the AT-AT just so you see if it'll react poorly...  It may not, and then you're in business.