Author Topic: The Official Darth Big Boy, Bearer of Bad Celebrity News RIP Thread  (Read 387094 times)

Offline CHEWIE

• Jedi Sentinel
    • View Profile
R.I.P. Kirby & Puckett
« Reply #150 on: May 2, 2005, 11:30 AM »
Well, my favorite pets in the world have now gone to the place in the clouds reserved for dogs. 

When I was a freshman in high school, we got a black Chow that I named Kirby, and three years later, we got another that was a Chow-Shepard mix and we named him Puckett. 

Kirby was 13 and Puckett was 10.  Very sad to see them get sick and no longer be the strong, happy dogs they had been for so long and, and true parts of the family.

I know that Chows have sometimes a bad reputation, but these dogs were the best and nicest animals I have ever seen.  When they were babies, we treated them like babies and we still did until their last days.

Back in October, Kirby had a stroke and lost his abilty to walk on his own very well.  In December, he was getting really bad, and we almost had him put to sleep.  Puckett seemed to be grieving and was very sad.  Then we realized on December 23rd that Puckett would not move and seemed to be in extreme pain.  We took him to the vet and he had liver cancer that had spread thoughout his intestines.  Needless to say, Puckett was in so much pain that we had to put him down that night.

We were shocked and heart broken.  Puckett was the younger dog that just a few days earlier had been running around and playing with us every day.  Kirby continued to struggle throughout the remaining months.  Yesterday he had 4 seizures.  My parents called me to tell me about it, and last evening I went over to the house to see him.  I fed him a bowl of ice cream with a spoon (ice cream was his favorite) and we took him to the vet last night.